Welcome to the Hecker Fire Department homepage. Thank you for visiting. The Hecker Fire Department serves the citizens of the Hecker Fire Protection District which is made of of approximately 50 square miles in both Monroe and St. Clair Counties with about 2500 residents. The district includes the Village of Hecker, the extreme Southwest portion of the Village of Smithton(Wildwood West) and unincorporated portions of both counties including Floraville and Paderborn.

We are a volunteer department with 27 active fire personnel, 17 of which also function as Emergency Medical Responders. We are an agency of  the Southwestern Illinois EMS System. We respond to all EMS calls and work with Monroe County EMS, Millstadt EMS, New Athens EMS, and Medstar EMS. These agencies transport patients to the hospital after we provide initial medical care.

We are a member of the Mutual Aid Box Alarm System (MABAS) Division 32, a mutual aid agreement that includes most of the fire departments in Monroe & St. Clair Counties and the St. Louis, MO City Fire Department. MABAS divisions throughout the state of Illinois, provide a structured means of obtaining or supplying resources in times of need to all fire departments that need assistance.

Insurance Services Office “ISO” regularly audits the department. Checking for adequate staffing, training, equipment, and water systems. Our current rating is a 3/3x.

We strive to provide 1st class services to our residents and visitors.